The Faculty of Education is one of the four faculties of Divine Word University. It was established as part of Divine Word University in 2004. The faculty is committed to the achievement of the triple mission of DWU through high quality teaching, research and scholarship and community engagement and outreach.

The faculty is committed to:

  • preparing new graduates for the teaching profession especially in the primary school education sector
  • upgrading and empowering teachers and professional educators of Papua New Guinea to develop the professional expertise of knowledge, attitudes and skills to provide quality education for all. More recently the faculty has ventured into the secondary education sector through the Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)
  • making provision for 'quality education for all'. This commitment arises from the Catholic philosophy concerning the rights and dignity of all children and is also in accordance with the PNG Government's commitment to education and working collaboratively to help achieve Vision 2050.

The establishment of the Faculty of Education in Divine Word Unviersity did not follow the status quo. For instance, the Master of Educational Leadership was launched without a fully-fledged education faculty. Associate Professor Denis McLaughlin, from Australian Catholic University, spearheaded the launch of the Master of Educational Leadership and to date this program has become popular and credible as the flagship of the Faculty of Education and DWU.

Divine Word University also continues to draw upon the accumulated experience of many years of involvement in the provision of primary teacher education through the established primary teachers colleges at St Benedict's Campus, Kaindi, OLSH Teachers College Kabaleo, Holy Trinity Teachers College, Mt Hagen and Don Bosco Technological Institute in Port Moresby. Since 2004, more education programs have been introduced and are attracting educators to return to upgrade their qualifications.